helping  local organisations and good causes
9 Charities receive a total £10,000, in our last round of grants. see news

Update from our March 23 grants

Helston Downsland Charity – Report from the Chair
September 2022- September 2023  
see news

Our next meeting ordinary:

7 pm Wednesday, 29th May
St Mary's Church Hall, Clodgey Lane, TR13 8P


The Helston Downsland Charity gives grants to local organisations and good causes. These local organisations and good causes then use the funding to benefit people of all ages in the area of Helston Parish. Grants are used to provide resources or improve facilities for the community, run projects and events.

The charity was originally set up in 1818 after the Enclosures Act led to the enclosure and division of Helston Downs and the Black and White Downs land. An area of the land enclosed was kept for the benefit of the poor, with the land being rented and the money raised held by the Helston Allotment in Aid of the Poor Rates. “The poor rates” were a local tax levied by a parish to finance the relief or support of people in financial hardship.

In 1935 it became the Helston Fuel Allotment, with the object of using money raised to pay for fuel at Christmas time, benefitting people in financial hardship in the Borough of Helston. In 1964 it was registered as the Helston Downsland Charity.

The Helston Downsland Charity has land and financial assets which it manages and invests to secure an income which is disbursed annually in the form of grants.

In addition, the Helston Downsland Charity supports the Helston Welfare Trust, with an annual payment, so that in turn, the Helston Welfare Trust can help Residents in Helston who are facing financial hardship.

 The Helston Welfare Trust can be contacted on 01326 572063 or by email


    • The Helston Downsland Charity is run by a board of trustees made up of Helston Town Councillors from Helston North and Helston South wards.

      Melissa Benyon – Chair

      John Boase 

      Nicola Boase

      John Martin

      Samuel Ramsden

      Peter Webb – Vice Chair

      Ronnie Williams

      Paul Andrew

      Paul Williams